Skip to main content

US Election Vocabulary: Electoral college? Battleground states?

US presidential elections are not decided by the popular vote (counting the number of votes obtained nationally for each candidate). Each voter  votes for a state representative to allocate a vote for the president and vice president in what is called an electoral college.

What is the electoral college?

States send delegates to the electoral college according to the state vote - with 48 out of 50 using a 'winner takes all system'. Only in Maine and Nebraska are the delegates allocated proportionally.

The number of delegates sent to the electoral college is decided by the population of the state. Thus the largest delegations come from the most populous states: New York, California and Texas.

Most states are comfortably red (Republican) or blue (Democrat) - see here. This means  that presidential elections are essentially fought over a small number of purple or battleground states which swing between parties in different election cycles.

Ohio is the classic example of a swing state. It has voted for the victor in every election since Kennedy's victory in 1960. Traditional wisdom suggests that the Republicans cannot win without Ohio - the state which decisively swung the re-election of George W Bush in 2004. That is why presidential candidates return again and again to campaign there.

One curious feature of the electoral college system is that a candidate can win the popular vote but still become president - this was the case in the 2000 election. The distribution of votes is as important as the raw number.

What is the 'ground-game'?

The ground-game is ensuring that your supporters voters get to the polling stations to cast their votes. This can involve providing transport or repeated reminder calls. It requires large numbers of local volunteers interact directly with the voters.


Popular posts from this blog

Top 10 most quoted lines of poetry in English?

Mark Forsyth (The Inky Fool) has analysed Google Search query result data for lines of verse requested online. Here is the Top Ten:

Why is English not the official language of England?

58 countries list English as an official language - but not the UK. The world's lingua franca or second language is not, technically, the 'official' language of its birthplace. The de factoofficiallanguage of the United Kingdom is English,[3][4] which is spoken by approximately 59.8 million residents, or 98% of the population, over the age of three.[1][2][10][11][12] An estimated 700,000 people speak Welsh in the UK,[13] an official language in Wales

What is the origin of the word alphabet?